Singapore x3

This past weekend was my third trip to Singapore. Every time I go, it gets harder and harder to come back. Every time I go, I am more convinced that Mitch and I need this to work. The type of life we could lead in Singapore is what we thought we’d find when we moved to Southeast Asia. We didn’t do nearly enough research about Seremban itself, unfortunately. Some of my friends have given Seremban a funny, accurate, and crude nickname and they’re right. (Hint: Starts with “sh”, ends with “itemban.”)

I don’t have much to show from this weekend in terms of photos because we spent quite a bit of time in museums. We saw an amazing da Vinci exhibit at the ArtScience Museum that included 13 original pages from the Codex Atlanticus, da Vinci’s largest notebooks full of sketches, inventions, mathematical formulas, and notes to himself. The exhibit itself was interactive, too, with challenges to build and think like the great Leonardo. I highly recommend it if it ever comes by wherever you are. We spent a little bit of time afterwards at the Asian Civilisations Museum but we were both pretty tired of standing by that point, so we’ll have to visit again another day. It does a really objective and sensitive job showcasing Asian cultures. I don’t think it’s supposed to be free, but it was! Finally, we happened upon the 2014 World Press Photo Exhibition. It’s true what they say, that a picture’s worth 1000 words. That’s even more true when each picture includes a caption explaining the circumstances behind its taking!

Now onto the few photos I took:

Skating rink inside a mall - I'm not convinced that's real ice because it certainly doesn't look like real ice!
Skating rink inside a mall – I’m not convinced that’s real ice because it certainly doesn’t look like real ice!
Cavenagh Bridge is Singapore's only suspension bridge and it's been there since 1870! This sign made me giggle.
Cavenagh Bridge is Singapore’s only suspension bridge and it’s been there since 1870! This sign made me giggle.
Mitch with a very reasonably priced tiramisu and two delicious glasses of wine at Boat Quay. Please note that the tiramisu came in a jar!
Mitch with a very reasonably priced tiramisu and two delicious glasses of wine at Boat Quay. Please note that the tiramisu came in a jar!

On a very personal note, I love seeing Jewish life in Singapore. It reminds me that there are parts of Southeast Asia where I can be myself.

Possible a JCC?
The home of Singapore’s Jewish Welfare Board
Synagogue
Singapore’s main synagoI also really enjoyed seeing a church across the street from the Jewish buildings.
Church
I also loved seeing a church around the corner from the Jewish buildings.

We’re off to Surabaya, Indonesia this weekend to visit a volcano! I will definitely have pictures of that!

5 thoughts on “Singapore x3”

Leave a comment